Clean energy award entries open

Thursday, 07 March, 2019

Clean energy award entries open

Nominations are open for the 2019 Clean Energy Council Awards, which will showcase the industry’s talent in the middle of an unprecedented construction and investment boom.

As well as the existing categories of Innovation, Community Engagement and Outstanding Contribution to Industry, this year will also introduce the new Marketing and Communications award recognising those who have made major contributions to the industry’s public profile.

“The Marketing and Communications award will highlight a critical element of our industry, the campaigns and content that spread the word about the wonderful work that is happening right across the renewable energy industry,” said Clean Energy Council Chief Executive Kane Thornton. “Coming off another year of highs the awards celebrate the very best of the many dozens of projects and world-class innovations, as well as the campaigns that contributed to the biggest year for renewables to date.”

Last year, the winners were:

  • The Innovation Award — Energy Queensland for working with the Queensland Government Department of Natural Resources, Mines and Energy to deliver affordable access to renewable energy for public housing tenants in Lockhart River.
  • The Community Engagement Award — TasNetworks for their project turning 40 homes on Tasmania’s Bruny Island into mini power stations.
  • The Outstanding Contribution to Industry Award — Nigel Morris for being an advocate for quality and integrity in the solar industry for more than 25 years.

The awards complement the Australian Clean Energy Summit which will feature 80 key speakers, six conference streams and three networking events. Speakers will include: Robyn Denholm, Telstra Head of Strategy and Chief Financial Officer; Angus Taylor, Minister for Energy; Mark Butler, Shadow Minister for Climate Change and Energy; Kerry Schott, Chair, Energy Security Board; and Dr Alan Finkel, Australia’s Chief Scientist.

Thornton said, “Delegates will be able to get access to the latest insights and network with leading renewable energy professionals who are driving the energy transformation for our country.”

Entries close midnight 17 May, and the winners will be announced at the NAB Gala Dinner during the Australian Clean Energy Summit on 30 July 2019.

Image credit: ©

Related News

Special joint taskforce to safeguard subbies

The Queensland Government has set up a Special Joint Taskforce to investigate allegations of...

R. STAHL to host an IEC standards development conference

This is the first time a manufacturer will host the IEC/TC31 conference, held from 25 March to 5...

GBCA appoints new CEO

The Green Building Council of Australia has announced that sustainability industry leader Davina...

  • All content Copyright © 2019 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd